Jules Janssen Prize

The Janssen Prize is the most widely known award  established by the renowned astronomer Jules Janssen (1824-1907). The prize is awarded annually by the Société astronomique de France since 1897. Its scope is international and is awarded to French and foreign astronomers for outstanding scientific work as well as for their contribution to public appreciation of astronomy.


“… this prize, which will consist of a large-size gold-plated medal, can be used to reward all discoveries and all important French or foreign works.”

Jules Janssen, President of the Société astronomique de France from 1895 to 1897